Difference between Dutch-process and regular Cocoa Powder?

Dutch-Process (or alkalized) cocoa powder has been processed with an d alkali to reduce acidity, making it milder tasting and giving it a darker color. Non-alkalized cocoa powder has a slightly more bitter taste, but is also more intensely chocolaty. The difference between the two is not only in taste and color, however. Because of their different pH levels, alkalized and non-alkalized cocoas interact differently in recipes calling for baking powder or baking soda. Recipe calling for Dutch-process cocoa powder use baking powder, which is essentially baking soda with added acid, as a leavener. Baked goods containing non-alkalized cocoa don’t need the extra acid in baking powder, and will rise well with only baking soda.

Dulcia Bakery

2 thoughts on “Difference between Dutch-process and regular Cocoa Powder?

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

    Like this

    • Thx so much I’m glad u like it, I’m working on some new stuff about baking and my trip to Mexico this September. Thx for following me!
      And sorry if I didn’t answer before

      Like this

Leave a Reply

